Green Smoothies: Are They Bad For You?

My opinion? Green Smoothies are an amazing health tool, and I, for one, would be hard pushed to get the same intake of leafy greens without them. You see, I’m one of those people often referred to as a ‘sweet tooth’. Salads, savoury foods, greens, vegetables, even nuts and seeds hold little appeal. So if I can get in a bunch of goodness in a blender, I’m all in!

The other major beneficial effect I have found as a result of starting the day with a green smoothie is that I tend to carry the healthy habits with me throughout the day. I’m far more likely to eat healthful and vibrant foods if I begin with a gorgeous green blend. For some reason, the green smoothies seem to flip a switch and I enjoy the aforementioned salads, vegetables, nuts & seeds – even eating them because I want to, rather than enduring them because I know they are beneficial…

I whole-heartedly agree with the Queen of Green Smoothies, Victoria Boutenko, when it comes to the green smoothie debate regarding nutrient uptake and fibre absorption:

“There are several scientific articles studying finely vs. coarsely ground fiber. One such article compared bran particles of 2 mm to less than .7 mm. This study found that both fine and coarse fiber have only 2% difference in performance. Moreover, the researchers stated “Fine bran causes less disturbance of gastric physiology than coarse bran” 1 and discussed how finely ground fiber increases nutrient absorption, and reduces bloating, heartburn, and constipation.

In other articles I found similar statements: “particle size of the fiber source did not affect performance.” 2 As you can see, both doctors [Dr. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn] didn’t state that green smoothies were bad and their words were used out of context. I invite you to try drinking green smoothies for a week and see for yourself if you feel better. To observe is our birthright. If we utilize our ability to observe, we can free ourselves from the labyrinth of confusions. I believe that our own conscious observations are a thousand times more important than any rigid scientific claim.

When people remove green smoothie from their diet, I wonder what they replace it with? Are they going to eat more salads, which will inevitably include oil and salt? Are they going to increase the consumption of cooked food? More grains and soy? It is not easy to replace green smoothie with anything equally beneficial.

1 Effect of bran particle size on gastric emptying and small bowel transit in humans: a scintigraphic study
 R Vincent, A Roberts, M Frier, A C Perkins, I A MacDonald, R C Spiller. Gut 1995; 37: 216-219
2 http://ps.fass.org/content/89/10/2197.full

As far as comments out there on the internet saying that green smoothies are bad for your health because they remove the fibre – I’m not exactly sure how these people are filtering the fibre out of the blender, unless they are confusing green smoothies with green juices!

One thought on “Green Smoothies: Are They Bad For You?

  1. Pingback: Research, Research, Research | ramanda429

share your thoughts...

