Healer Heal Thyself…

Okay, so I wrote about coughs, colds, and ‘flu…then out of the blue I get a cough and a bit of a headcold! I’m also one of those people who claims to “never get sick”. Oh well, gives me a chance to put my money where my mouth is.

So I whipped out the Weleda Cough Elixir that I talked about the other day, and luckily we still have a third of a bottle left. Since my throat is also a bit sore, I decided to drink some aloe vera juice as well to soothe the mucous membranes and reduce inflammation. If you use fresh aloe from the plant – be sure to only use the inner gel from the succulent leaves as the outer green part can cause diarrhoea and cramping.

We haven’t managed to source any aloe vera plants here in Kaikoura yet, so I just used the bottled stuff that you buy in the health stores. Brands I like are Lifestream, Forever Living, and Herbalife’s aloe concentrate – although those last two are sold through MLM, they are still quality products. Forever Living’s Aloe vera was actually used (with great success) in large clinical trials to help treat IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome).

The other thing that came to mind was using Verissima Natural Skincare’s magic in a bottle that is Inhale & Heal. You can use it by adding about 10 drops to a bowl of steaming water and breathing in the vapours, or add it to a burner or vaporiser…but what I LOVE doing is putting a single drop on my palm, rubbing both hands together, and then placing my cupped hands over my nose and mouth area so that I can breathe it in deeply. You can feel it working almost immediately! The warmth in your hands (or the water used with the other methods) releases the healing properties of the oil. They also have a fantastic chest rub which I use when I am feeling ‘chesty’ – like a 100% natural version of the old Vicks VapoRub.

2 thoughts on “Healer Heal Thyself…

  1. Blessings Meg
    Thanks for the reminder of these beautiful healing methods. I remembered if put a few drops of Inhale and Heal into a beeswax blended balm I could use this on my 2 year old Granddaughter who is almost constantly got a green nose and chesty cough.

    Love & Hugs
    Kylie

share your thoughts...

